Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Tuning...

Venkat

Hi folks,

I just got a new Oscar Schmidt OG2 (full dread

by Washburn) acoustic yesterday. I tuned all

strings using a new Korg CA30 chromatic tuner

last night. Sounds great for a mere $100...

I'm just a newbie, you see :) . Got the same 3/4th

size OG1 for me kiddo... Both are learning

together.

I practiced just for ~1/2hr strumming a few

chords basically, nothing fancy...

The question is, within just ~8hrs, all strings

lost tuning Is this expected in new guitars or

is it that the tuning machines are bad. I had to

tighten them all, anywhere form 1/2 circle to

over 1 circle of tuning machine rotation. They

are chrome die cast tuners.

TIA

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hey Venkat great to hear about you and your kid learning together.

Most guitars when store bought come with pretty crappy factory strings. These strings go out of tune very fast. To fix your problem go to your local guitar store and buy some new strings. I would suggest Elixirs or Martin for acoustic but that's my personal bias. If your just going to be playing chords and want to be in tune more try thicker strings as well. However, if you are planning on some lead guitar playing on your acoustic I would try Lights. If you don't know how to re-string a guitar I am sure the people at your neighborhood guitar shop would be more than happy to show you. Also as other people have now stated stings need to be worked in for a while until they are stretched properly.

Also keep in mind all guitars go out of tune eventually and price is usually a good indicator for how long they will stay in tune.

-Hope this helps

-Jim Matteucci

Yea I'm 16 and I have a lot to learn

http://thefuryband.tripod.com/

Welcome to the club.