Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Knocked on my keister yesterday - please help!

mstreck

I met a guy yesterday that is self taught (not one lesson) and has been playing for only few years. The guy can fingerpick, play leads, and knows every type of chord formation there is. He is awesome. I, too, have been playing for only a few years and I felt like a day one beginner next to him!

Where did I go wrong and, more importantly, what can I do to fix me?

Mike

Petting Hendrix

Do you know what it's like to fall in the mud and get kicked in the head by an iron boot? Of course you don't--no one does--that never happens.

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply
His level of expertise is probably in direct proportion to his work (practise) ethic. I've been playing seriously for 25+ years, and am nowhere near as good as I'd like to be. I'm not very fast, and I find that after awhile, most of my playing starts to sound the same to me. But then again, I don't practise for hours a day, and when I do practise, it's usually playing along with songs I want to learn, rather than working on scales. etc. The player you met yesterday probably lives with his guitar, practising endlessly. There's a player here in Frederick who has intimidated me since he was 17 years old (he's about 40 now), he was THAT good then. But he worked at his playing for 8-10 hours a day, and it showed.

My gear: http://fendercaster.freeservers.com/guit3.html

If you own two Lexus cars, do you have Lexi?

Yes, practice makes, not perfect, but very good.

When I practiced faithfully, I played pretty well. :cool: Now I hardly practice, and it shows. :cry:

This is true with things other than guitar too. Yes, there really are other things :D

Gotta' geetar... got the amp. There must be SOMEthing else I... "need".