Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Help with Effects??

knunchucksammy

Hello,

I am a gigging musician and I play a Taylor 510 ce with a Marshall acoustic amp, and a Les Paul Jr. Special Lite with a Carvin Head/Speakers. I am venturing into effects now and I even like the way effects work on acoustic guitar and feel as though I could make some innovative use out of them.

Here is my Question: Is there some sort of selector box that would allow me to BOTH my acoustic and my electric plugged into the same Boss stomp pedals/Tuner etc. while plugged into the amps? So Acoustic FX to Marshall amp, while AT THE SAME TIME my electric going through the FX line then into the amplifier?

I know it seems odd, but what would be the best option for me? Is there no way to get around turning of the amps when I switch guitars and/or unplugging the guitar from the FX line?

Thanks in advance for your assistance. I am just a dummy....

Matt

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

A sophisticated effects switcher such as a Digital Music Ground Control or Rocktron Bradshaw Switcher would probably accomplish this. Both are fairly expensive however.

A cheaper option would be to use 2 simple A/B boxes (can be had for around $25 ea. Get units with simple DPDT hard wiring as opposed to FET switching).

Here's how it would work:

1) Both guitars go into A and B jacks of first A/B box.

2) Single output of A/B box goes to effects.

3) Output of effects would go into second A/B box. A and B jacks would each go to a different amp.

So the first box would switch between guitars and the second would switch between amps.

As long as you remembered to switch BOTH boxes, you'd be cool. Otherwise it could be a "Taylor through Marshall" situation.

"You never can vouch for your own consciousness." - Norman Mailer