Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

My comparison mp3's of Custom Plus, Standard, Es-335, and Wolfgang

James-Italy

Just bought the latest addition to this rapidly growing guitar collection. Felt pretty bad about this one, the kid is finishing college and needs the money badly. When he handed her over I thought he was gonna cry....

Anyway, had a few hours today to fool around and was curious to see how they recorded and what the major differences are soundwise. The feel is obviously very different between each of them. One is Ebony, two are rosewood, and one is Birdseye Maple. My favorite overall is the LP Standard, but I enjoy playing all of them.

Remember I'm just learning this lead guitar stuff and have only had 1 lesson so far. (I better make some excuses as to why I suck!) Actually, I'm quite happy because I'm progressing steadily. Just don't expect any EVH licks, I recorded these to hear the differences in the guitars. So if anyone listens don't pay attention to the playing.

All are recorded using the exact same volume settings/patches/etc from the Line6 PodXT (changed manually with the dial while playing) recorded directly into Sonar and then exported from Sonar directy to mp3. No effects in the recording either pre or post recording. Everything is exactly as it went into Sonar. I used the same pick (Tuskbuffer!) and cable (monster) on all the guitars. I changed the pickup settings from Treble to Rhythm during each (approx at the same points). I tried to play the same thing each recording. Oh, and I had all the tone/volume pots cranked at max on all the guitars.

If anyone's interested, here they are. Each one is about 3 minutes. I'd be interested in any feedback about the guitars. (no criticques on the playing please :freak: )

\'97 LP Custom Plus (490R/498T pups)

\'01 LP Standard (490R/498T pups)

\'00 ES-335 Dot ReIssue (\'57 Classic HB\'ers)

\'98 Peavey Wolfgang

PodXT Patches:

EricJohnson Clean

SRV