Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Ground Loop Hum at the Grammys

What was up with that?? They kept having hum problems that were louder than Robin Williams...now that is a feat in and of its self! It plagued several artist. I kept yellling at the TV set, in total dismay. Was there not a sound check?? Was there not a technician there?? Jeesh! How amature, expecially for NYC. This comes from a dude (me) that volunteers time and services at memphis' Premier Players Awards, so i have some experience in this area. That was a joke to the techinical community of Madison Sq. Gdns. or who ever was responsible. Tisk Tisk DCMIX

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Dennis and Dave, While I don't like to listen to ground hum either, to say : [quote] [/quote]Was there not a sound check?? Was there not a technician there?? Jeesh! How amature, expecially for NYC. This comes from a dude (me) that volunteers time and services at memphis' Premier Players Awards, so i have some experience in this area. That was a joke to the techinical community of Madison Sq. Gdns. or who ever was responsible. Tisk Tisk [quote] [/quote]and [quote] [/quote]In all of Manhattan they couldn't find one decent sound tech? Sheesh. [quote] [/quote]Go to this link: http://www.prosoundnews.com/stories/2003/february/0224.2.shtml If you’re not familiar with any of those names, let me mention Ed Greene. He is the BEST in the business. Having worked 6 years with him and being in the Audio Truck at the Grammy's as it all goes down LIVE, its nuts. Now we all would like to have zero technical problems, but that not life! He had the best crew that New York has, and they aren't any slackers! Ed has over 15 Emmy's himself, yet he is the most humble guy in the business and many of us including myself have him to thank for his insight and his technical abilities. He is "the Best"!!!

Marti D. Humphrey C.A.S.

aka dr.sound

www.thedubstage.com