Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Advice on a getting an acoustic guitar

Jay J.

I have been playing bass for about 5 years. I have never played much guitar, but now I am looking to get a acoustic guitar to mess around with. I don't want to spend a lot, but I don't want to get a crap on eather. bassically I want to get the cheapest one possible that is still a decent guitar. what would you suggest. I don't now many kinds other than the mainstream stuff, but I figure that like with bass there are some less known companies out there that make a good product for a good price.

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There's lots of choices.

Under $200 you're better off buying a used guitar. If you have a friend who plays or can pick yourself, you can find nice guitars by Yamaha, Guild, Takemine, Ibanez, Ovation, Washburn and others.

If you're nervous about used, or just want a new guitar you'll see and hear differences in guitars below $200, between $300 and $600, and then again around $1000 and up.

There are too many guitars to provide detailed opinions about, but some new guitar made by the companies I listed should fit your needs. Others here will surely add some companies I've forgotten to mention.

A few features to look for. Solid vs non solid tops. Generally speaking solid tops are preferred and used exclusively in high end guitars. They will often "sweeten" with time and play and may have a noticable sound difference even when you compare them in a store. On the other hand laminated tops are a bit "tougher" and if you like the sound, it will tend to stay that way...

Another price factor is electronics. If you don't want or need them, you'll be able to save a bit. If you do start with a non-electric, you can later add a sound hole pickup or a built in pickup...