Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Expert Advice on Guitar Shopping

betaphase

Hi guys.

I'm new to the board, but I've been playing (as a hobby so far) for about 8 years. I am shopping for a decent steel-string acoustic in the price range of up to around the $800-$900 price range (nothing into the thousands most likely). There are so many brands out there, though, that I don't really know what to look at.

I've been to the guitar store, and played with some Martins and some Taylors which I really liked. (I've also read some posts from some people who really like some Carvins, and some Yamahas and Gibsons.) I am not sure where to start, and I could use some suggestions.

Thanks a lot.

Bruno :wave:

Maybe all there is to life

Is to ask the questions,

And to Survive

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Woops! ;)

It's kinda pathetic that I am replying to my own post, but I had to correct an error with my first post. After looking at some of the catalogs online, I have seen that the guitars that draw my interest tend to, at least, get into the low thousands (MSRP). So I am just adding to my original post in saying, let's assume that my price range is up to a limit of $1200.00 max. Oh and I am partial to the Auditorium , Orchestra, and Jumbo body styles (particularly the cutaways). So, once again, your advice is GREATLY appreciated :thu: .

Sorry/Thanks

Is to ask the questions,

And to Survive

Did you ever consider buying a good used guitar. I have a mid 70's guild that isn't worth much on the market but I can tell you it sounds better than most new acoustics costing over $2,000. I own a recording studio and have recorded many acoustic guitars through the years and my Guild blows a lot of them away. I , and a lot of people think that acoustics sound better with age and everytime I play a new acoustic it feels stiff and the sound is kind of dead.