Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Keyboard player needs to buy a guitar for xmas

Postman

I want to buy my 9 year old kid a electric guitar for Christmas. I play keys, so I while I know something about the different models, I don't know enought to judge what would be the best for an absolute beginner (for less than, say, $500, if possible). I'm told that there are different scales(?) of fretboard, that Gibson is slightly smaller? Is that important? I know I'm being vague here, but any advice would be much appreciated.

Oh, and is a Pignose still considered a decent mini-amp?

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There's a lot to pick from in the sub-$500 range.

But, for a 9 year old, keep in mind you're dealing with small hands, and no calluses. It might make sense to get a 3/4 scale acoustic with nylon strings as a starter. That way your son can get over the physical hurdles easier and you can see if he's really going to stick with it. There's going to be some "bad" before there's some "good" and I've found that dexterity in kids is sometimes an issue. Nylon strings won't hurt his fingertips too much, and several makers have 3/4 scale versions.

Just a little info, scale length has to do with the length of the neck and therefore the distance between the frets. It's true that Gibson's have a shorter scale length than Fender's but I'm not sure a 9 year old is ready for either...

Maybe the most important thing is to find a good teacher. If you can find a starter guitar for say $300, then spend the other $200 on lessons. Or vice versa. After that, you'll have some idea whether you should do more.

As far as Pignoses are concerned, they're still made, are kinda cool for a little "bedroom" amp, but certainly would not be used for much beyond that. Again, I'd suggest an acoustic and go for the amp later.

Maybe you should look for the teacher first, see what they suggest, and then go from there.

Good Luck.

guitplayer