Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Guitar question from a drummer

sidereal

Hi all,

I'm in need of some expert advice...

I'm a drummer in a well-established and frequently gigging cover band that is about to lose its keyboard player. So we're going from a 5-piece to a 4-piece.

The problem is that the guitarist in the band needs to now handle all melodic chores (outside the singer of course). He plays a Les Paul through a Line 6 pedal board to a Line 6 amp, but he only uses two sounds: that Les Paul overdriven rock distortion, and a clean tone for funk. But with the keyboardist gone, he's going to have to diversify his sound pallette. I don't mean going all Roland synthy, but can you all tell me what is a good, relatively simple and inexpensive way to give him more sounds to choose from? I'm talking gear (keeping in mind the gear he currently has) and also how much programming he'd have to spend time doing. Is it just a matter of getting a multi-effects unit and spending the time to get it sounding good? he tried to do this once before but everything turned out to be too chorus-y and he wasn't the best programmer in the world, so he sold it back.

The guy can be a bit lazy, so I want to make us sound as full as possible on stage, without too much time or money invested in the effort.

Thanks!

Just for the record.

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi sidereal ;) ,