Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Raise pickups myself

I'm new to guitar playing. I bought a standard Strat.

I got a Top Hat amplifier. Strat sounds grat throught it. A friend brought a Les Paul by and the Top Hat sounded even more fantastic with the master and pre all the way up.

I was told I could get better distortion by raising my pickups. Should I do this myself? Would it be better to add a little gain from a distortion stomp box I own?

Joe

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Let me make sure I understand...

You're brand new to guitar playing.

You've got a new STRAT and a TOP HAT amp.

You want to raise your pickups yourself... for more "distortion".

(in the voice of an "upset Dad")...

Young Man... I'm not sure if you are old enough to raise pickups yourself. Pickups take a lot of work. They need to be brushed every day, and walked, and the water dish has to be filled and the cage cleaned out.

Your mother and I are not going to be the ones to take care of raising your pickups if after two weeks you're "bored" with them. This is a big responsibility. Are you saying you "PROMISE" to raise them the right way?

OK then, we'll start this on a trial basis. But if your grades drop, or we find out that you're skipping school just to be with your pickups... well, it's back to the store with them. http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Ummmm... OK seriously. You're kinda a lucky dude. A Top Hat amp is an expensive but very nicely made amp. I would guess that adding some sort of overdrive unit to your rig would make that amp sound very bad, (good).

Since money is no object, I'd suggest a tasty product like a FullTone FullDrive II. MMMMMM. Good.

For more options check out harmonycentral.com's reviews of effects... lots of good opinions there.