Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Guitar Amps and FX for recording

everglass

Hi,

I grew up playing acoustic guitar and never realised how much an amp and distortion helps make electric guitar almost another instrument! I have been producing pop records for the last 10 years now, but as I grow older I am finding I am getting more into classic guitar/rock pop. I need to set myself up with some great amps and some fx. The sound I want to go for would be U2, Tonic (for the heavy stuff - as heavy as I want to get anyway) and Sting (the Police). So some great clean sounds and some really gritty ones as well. I have a '91 strat plus deluxe and a '91 Les Paul Classic and I am soon to get a Telecaster and maybe a Musicman.

I only need my rig for the studio and I need reliable gear. Some suggestions that have been thrown my way in the past include:

Rivera

Vox A-30

Marshall

Laney

Mesa-Boogie

Matchless

I am definately considering getting 2 contrasting amps. Should I get combo amps or some kind of speaker cabinet with different heads? If you could suggest some great FX pedals or boxes that I should know about also, please let me know. My main aim at this point however are great sounding amps that I will love recording.

Thanks.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, I'd definately recommend Mesa/Boogie as they are completely reliable and sound wonderful. You can get a real 'Fenderish' clean sound and the Boog screaming sustain lead tone is perfect for loads of styles. They also have a great sounding direct out for recording which includes speaker sim and a silent speaker switch to hush your amp if you only want to hear it in the cans. A lot of tone can be found by changing the drive between pre amps. I'd recommend a Mark IV/EV combo.