Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

what kind of keyboard do you own and why?

roscopicosound

just looking to see what make and model people have or upgraded too, and to see what the pro's and con's of their keyboboard(s) are, or just their main keyboard if they have more than one.

right now i play a yamaha keyboard i paid $150 for new, just for learning...until i'm ready to upgrade.

i'm a beginner keyboardist...

• Replies 112
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I still have an old Ensoniq Mirage. It's an OK small controller for small gigs and since I bought it new I would get nothing for it in a sale. So why get rid of it.

Besides that, I have a Korg Wavestation module when there's need for huge synth sounds and complex pads.

And last, three Kurzweil instruments. They offer immense programmability, keyboard precision, great sounds and infinite musical inspiration. :)

Welcome to the forum. I play blues, R&B, classic rock and solo jazz piano. I have:

Yamaha S90:

Pros- great pianos, EPs, clavis. Lots of great string, brass and woodwind sounds. Can pick one up cheap with new S90ES on the market.

Cons- big, heavy, not at all intuitive to do layers, splits and other programming.

Nord Electro 2/61:

Pros- fabulous B3, EPs. Very lightweight. Great Leslie sim and other effects (but no reverb). Very fun and musically inspiring to play.

Cons- acoustic pianos fair although the mono Steinway works fine playing with a band (I have not downloaded the most recent upgrade- do a search to get opinions on these). Short KB- would get the 73 key if doing again.

Motion Sound KP200-S:

Pros- Nice stereo sound. XLR outputs to PA for bigger/louder gigs. Not too big or heavy.

Cons- Not loud enough by itself (but it really isn't made for that. It'd have to be 80-100 lbs to get enough sound to keep up with most loud guitar amps). Expensive.