Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Purchase decision

forumer

Hi,

I am pretty new to the music world and want to learn playing piano/keyboard. I want to buy a digital piano. I am thinking about

YAMAHA S90 ES and

YAMAHA CP300

To me are important:

(PIANO) SOUND and

KEYBOARD

I think both have a good piano sound. S90 might be the older one and so the sound might be a bit not as good as the sound of CP300. The keyboards are made using different technics:

S90 ES: BALANCED HAMMER KEYBOARD

CP300: GRADED HAMMER KEYBOARD

Both cost (in Austria/Germany) about 2.200,- EUR. CP300 has built-in laudspeakers, for S90 I have to buy laudspeakers that might cost around 500,- EUR for two peases. I may also use my stereo hi-fi system, but I'm not sure whether this is a good decision because of the sound quality, etc.

S90 ES may be substituted soon by a newer model since it is more than 2 years on the market and Yamaha is used to introduce a new model of the same series almost every 2 or 3 years.

I might not use all the potentials of S90 ES and most probably use the piano sound. But as far as I know both keyboards can be attached to computer or other sound generators.

I have checked KORG and ROLAND keyboards. I don't like their sounds. But I know many musicians love to play these brands.

I would be thankful for any advices and experiences you might share with me.

Thanks

forumer

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If you are just starting you would be better served with a yam p120 / 140 or kawai es4 / es5