Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

what does it mean to "make music"

idoubleL

im a complete beginner

ive been pointed to Chuan Chang\'s book and have done some searches on various forums

he seems to focus on getting the student to the place of 'making music' as quickly as possible, without all the hangups of the repetition of techniques. in discussions people saying that you need to understand a piece "musically" first to truly learn how to play it.

i was under the impression that you get some sheet music, learn and memorize the sequence of keys to press, and voila! you can play the piece. obviously im mistaken? :)

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

What does it mean to "make music"?

For me, it means to have a piece of music sufficiently practiced so as to be able to play it unconsciously (this is also true of having a style of improvisation solidly internalized).

When I am "making music", I have the sensation that the music is literally flowing THROUGH ME, that I am not the creator of the music, but rather a conduit through which the music is given life. Making music is more than just the mechanical process of fingers to keys in proper time, it means to allow the music to express the emotion that is inherent within it. To do this, I must be able to focus my ATTENTION ON THE MUSIC, not the mechanics.

As far as "hangups of the repetion of techniques", I agree that it is not necessary to have a superior technique to "make music". However, taking the time to develop one's technique allows for greater expression, ornamental facility, and the ability to tackle bigger tunes or ideas.

Bottom line- JUST START PLAYING! KEEP PLAYING! I have been playing for 28+ years, and I remain a STUDENT OF MUSIC and the PIANOFORTE. PLAY!!!

Never try to play anything live.

First - Do you like music or better yet love it?

Second - Are you able to make the kind of music you love?