Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Newbie question

JPF

Hello. I have been searching the forum for an answer to my question and can't find any answers. Im probably not typing the correct question to search, so I was hoping the good folks on the forum could help me out with their wisdom.

I play bass in a couple of bands and have been playing piano for a while, but Im still learning. I have a Korg TR keyboard and I was hoping to add it to the bands I play in. I have not had any problem learning the songs we play on piano, but I seem to be having a hard time figuring out the proper sounds to match the songs Im learning. I have read the manual and know how the unit operates and how to modify the voices etc. I just cant seem to make the keyboard sound like the recordings. Can anyone give me hints on how to figure out the proper sounds used on recordings so I know where to look on the keyboard? I dont want to have to rely on people telling me exactly what voice to use on each song. I would rather be able to figure it out myself. Im getting very frustrated and I dont want the frustration to keep me from learning and playing the keyboard.

Any hints or help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

• Replies 1
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I can't really answer your question, but I can explain some of the reasons for your frustration and, in the process, perhaps help reduce it a bit. Here goes:

First, from the beginnings of electromechanical keyboards and analog synthesizers until now, literally hundreds (thousands?) of different hardware and software instruments have been released and used in various music recordings. You need to simply dispel yourself of the idea that your one keyboard is capable of faithfully reproducing all of the sounds that those many, many instruments made. So, first piece of advice: Your goal is not replication. Rather, it is "close approximation."