Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Should I take my keyboard to uni?

MyOwnWay

Hi there. :wave: I play both the violin and the keyboard - have played the violin in various groups for years, but I've never played the keyboard as part of a group before, and I thought uni might be a good time to start. There'll be lots of new people there, and hopefully quite a few musicians! This is my situation:

- Started playing the keyboard 6 years ago, having started playing the violin 4 years previously. Had a few lessons, but since then have been self-taught.

- Play both by ear and from sheet music. I'm pretty sure I know most of the basic chords, but I've still got a lot to learn!

- Still own the Yamaha PSR-280 that I started learning on, but for the past few months it's been wired up to FL Studio on my dad's computer, which I'm slowly becoming familiar with. However, I'm not sure if FL Studio would be able to come to uni with me, as I don't know if it'd be able to transfer from dad's computer to my computer when I get it.

So, bearing all this in mind, do you reckon it'd be worth taking my keyboard to uni, or should I just take my violin? Would I be in with a chance of joining some sort of group with my keyboard skills?

Any advice appreciated. Thanks! :)

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

MyOwnWay, welcome to The Keyboard Corner.

By uni, I'm assuming you mean university.

How far away is the university? How long will it be before your first visit home?

If I were you, I would bring nothing but the bare essentials with you. It's most important to get acclimated to your new surroundings and get locked in with good study habits, since that's why you're there.

If you come home for a break after a few months, you'll know if you should return with your violin, your keyboard, or both.

True story: