Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Stupid "theory" question!

Nu2Keys

Okay, I'm basically a self-taught play by ear player, but I did study upright bass in college so I have some music knowledge, enough, at least I thought, to think and speak with some knowledge about notes, scales, chords, etc. But something recently upset my apple card. Here's my question: The chord that we know as (for example) G7 (GDBF) was recently explained to me as actually being G with a FLATTED 7th. And the chord known as Gmaj7 (GDBGb) is in reality the true G7? These ideas BOTH make perfect sense when I think thru the G major scale. Why are the called what they're called? It doesn't seem logical, or does it? I haven't thought far enough to worry about what other chord names might also be "wrong" as well. Can someone help me wrap my brain around the reasoning behind this situation, and maybe why we call chords what we call them? Help!

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You are incorrect there Nu2Keys. Those are G dominant 7 (G7) and G Major 7 (GM7) respectively. Those are not two interpretations of G7.

The G major scale has the F# (don't call it Gb or Dave Horne will be all over you ;) There's no Gb in a G major scale. ).

The G major seventh chord would have G B D F# which are all found in the G Major scale. A dominant 7 is always a flatted version of the 7th note in the scale (F# becomes F). An F is not in the G major scale.

Hamburg Steinway O, Crumar Mojo, Nord Electro 4 HP 73, EV ZXA1

Originally posted by Nu2Keys:

The chord that we know as (for example) G7 (GDBF) was recently explained to me as actually being G with a FLATTED 7th. And the chord known as Gmaj7 (GDBGb) is in reality the true G7?

Have you been listening to the guitar player again? You're supposed to just nod and smile. The listening part gets you into trouble every time.

;)

--Dave

Make my funk the P-funk.

I wants to get funked up.