Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Approach to learning/practicing scales

Jazzpunk

As a newbie I am curious as to how others approach practicing scales. While I have been taking lessons, I have yet to find a teacher who has an actual method as far as how to break down and approach my practice time.

On the subject of practicing scales, I am curious as to how others approached this when first learning. Did you guys start with selected keys or did you go through the major and minor scales in all keys each time you practiced?

The teachers I have had so far seem to want to skip right to the more ethereal concepts of music like the feel and emotion which is fine but right now I feel like I need to build a technical foundation to draw from.

Thanks in advance for any input.

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Tell your teacher about this. If he/she doesn't care about your needs, simply change teacher. After all, you are the one paying for the courses.

Technique practice in all keys is as important as the more elaborated theory stuff, especially in the beginning.

it does tend to get alittle tedious to sit and practice all keys... but it's obviously very important to getto them all.. so waht i'ld suggest is do 2-3 each time you practice just make sure you hit them all dont concentrate on the ones you know best... and like cydonia said it's your dough... while it's a little presumptious to think you know exactly what you need (you are the one learning right?) at the same time if it's not taking you where you want to go you should at least quetion how they are gonna get you there...
"style is determined not by what you can play but what you cant...." dave brubeck

Originally posted by Jazzpunk:

The teachers I have had so far seem to want to skip right to the more ethereal concepts of music like the feel and emotion which is fine but right now I feel like I need to build a technical foundation to draw from.

[/QB]