Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Noob trying to manage multiple keyboards live

mwdiehl

Hey everyone! I recently made the move to 2 keyboards for playing live, and I have what is probably a really basic question, but keep in mind that I'm new to the software and MIDI world as it pertains to music.

What is the best way to control multiple keyboards while playing live? I've got custom setups for both keyboards and I'm trying to keep the time it takes for me to manually change setups between songs.

...Again, I'm sure it's something that all of you can do relatively easy, but any advice you all might have would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!!!

Matt

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

What keyboards do you have? Some keyboards have "master" type features in which you can take command of the second keyboard in various ways. Probably the most basic and easy thing for you to do would be to send program changes from keyboard to the next according to which song you are playing. Then you only worry about changing setups on one keyboard.

Regards,

Eric

Originally posted by eric:

What keyboards do you have? Some keyboards have "master" type features in which you can take command of the second keyboard in various ways. Probably the most basic and easy thing for you to do would be to send program changes from keyboard to the next according to which song you are playing. Then you only worry about changing setups on one keyboard.

Regards,

Eric

What Eric says it right on in terms of the easiest way to go about from a general position. Knowing what two keyboards you have may also bring different suggestions which you mayfind more useable.

Begin the day with a friendly voice A companion, unobtrusive

- Rush