Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Need help with a first keyboard

Dan P

I've been a guitar player for 2 and a half years,and theres no chance I'm giving it up, but I've decided to buy a cheap keyboard,just for a messabout.

Anyway,heres my problem. Since I'm not going to play it too seriously,I don't want to buy anything amazing or expensive.So I was looking in the Argos catalogue (English shop if you haven't heard of it) And there are 2 in there that caught my attention,mainly because of the price. Here are the links:

The cheaper one

And

The slightly more expensive one.

I have no knowledge of keyboards,so I was hoping someone could help me.Are both of these keyboards really bad,because they are so cheap?And if not,is it worth the extra £20 for the second one,where the only advantage that I understand is the pitch shifter?

Thanks for taking the time to read,even if you cannot help

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by Dan P:

Are both of these keyboards really bad, because they are so cheap?

The answer is yes, of course if I base my answer comparing with the pro keyboards around today. :)

But that's an OK choice if you just want to experiment for a while or have a limited budget. And if you discover you really want to get more serious playing keyboards, you can always buy a better one later. :cool:

I started on a Magnus reed organ when I was small. It sounded more like an accordion, but that was perfect to begin experimenting back then. Then I bought my first keyboard called a Welson organ, which was fine for the budget I had then. Later, I discovered I could do better and decided to buy a more serious instrument.

So that's just normal, to go progressively. No need to buy a Synclavier the first week. :D

The good thing today is, you can have a much better "unexpensive" keyboard now that you could in my days (70s and 80s), as technology advanced a lot since then.