Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Volume Control in Band Settings

Secant Ogive

Hi Folks.

This is my second post. I posted an earlier question about programming an Ensoniq TS12, and I explained that I have played acoustic piano pretty much solo my entire life, and have recently joined and cofounded a band, so I am new to the world of electronic instruments and stage sound. The other folks in the band have a lot of knowledge and experience, however none of them have ever played with a piano/keyboard before.

One problem that keeps coming up at rehearsals is volume control for the piano/keyboard. It seems that my instrument is very susceptable to being drowned out when the dymamics become louder or more intense.

All of our band folks are very sensitive and considerate about playing too loudly or being disruptive to others. :thu:

How do you all (who do not have professional sound people in the audience) control the individual volume of your instrument as the dymamics of a tune changes? Do you use pedals or the hand slider? Do set the volume levels as presets and select them as needed?

:confused:

Thanks for your help.

S.O.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Depends on the sound I am playing. B3 sounds I use an expression pedal to add or remove volume.

Piano I play louder.

However, I do have a slider devoted to volume for extra boosts or when the band gets over excited.

I'm just saying', everyone that confuses correlation with causation eventually ends up dead.

Check out this thread about volumes and hearing loss.

http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/ultimatebb.php?/ubb/get_topic/f/18/t/019764.html

There are those that argue that at rehearsal you should all be playing at reasonable volumes. I've been wanting to try this with my band, but we're on a break and getting together for the first time in a while this Saturday.