Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Funk Playing . . . tips, please.

shniggens

We've decided to throw Shaky Ground into our repetoire . . . and I need some suggestions on getting started playing funk.

The guitarist suggested we play it in D major (I'm not sure if that's the key the original song is in or not), and it seems to stay in D for most of the song. So comping will be easy in that regard, but tough to keep the comping different and fresh throughout the song.

I'm new at playing in the funk style. I've read some books that addressed the staccato type of funk playing, but was wondering if you guys could suggest some techniques, scales, rhythms, sounds etc for funk playing.

Gracias.

:wave:

Amateur Hack

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

My suggestion is that rhythm is more important than notes. Funk works by leaving space between several parts, often simple in themselves, but becoming complex when combined together.

I would play along with the recording, but to start, forget about notes. Play your keyboard like you are hitting a conga drum or something. The point is to think of your playing as drumming instead of keyboard. Slap it in a staccato manner. Stay mostly off the beat.

When you are comfortable with that, start playing specific chords and little licks.

Moe

---

Definitely use a percussive keyboard sound i.e. clav and play off the hi-hat & snare rhythm moreso than the kick drum. Hopefully, you already got a funky drummer. Use appoggiaturas (arpeggiate 2 note chord fragments). It is all about playing what appears to be simple licks percussively.

PD

"The greatest thing you'll ever learn, is just to love and be loved in return."--E. Ahbez "Nature Boy"

With total seriousness I suggest that you quit reading books and start listening to records .

Sly Stone, Tower of Power, Stevie Wonder, Average White Band, James Brown.......