Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

first gig

C'mon folks, tell us all about your very first live gig.

Mine was when I was 9. My parents bought me a Lorenzo electronic chord organ for Christmas, 1971 & 6 months later I found myself on stage on my own, in front of 300 or so parents at the school concert.(Just to point out I'm completely self taught & had never played a keyboard before). I'm booked to do 3 songs. (Funny, I don't remember volunteering for the gig!) I managed one & a half before nerves took over, my bottle went & I ran off stage. :eek:

Never been frightened of an audience since, mind. I think they call it "being thrown in at the deep end!"

Gig rig: Motif XF8,Roland A37~laptop,Prophet 08,Yam WX5~VL70m.

Studio: V-Synth GT,Korg DW8000,A33,Blofeld,N1R,KS Rack,too many VSTs

Freefall www.f-music.co.uk

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I don't remember much about my first performance as a singer. I was 3, and was the featured soloist in the Children's choir in a big Baptist church in Chicago. I think that was because I was the only little kid that could sing in tune.

I remember my first performance as a keyboardist vividly, though. I was around 8 and had been taking organ lessons for 2 years. I played How Great Thou Art in our suburban Chicago Baptist church. It was a Sunday night, and I was terrified. Not so much stage fright, I was worried I'd mess up. I played it flawlessly, and afterward, as I walked back to my seat, I let out an audible sigh that totally embarassed my parents, and drew a laugh from the congregation. I didn't care, I'd done it.

"In the beginning, Adam had the blues, 'cause he was lonesome.

So God helped him and created woman.

Now everybody's got the blues."

Willie Dixon

My first gig with a band was back in the late '80's in Bayonne, NJ. Place called The Chatterbox on Kennedy Blvd.