Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Teacher or no Teacher?

Lately I've come to the conclusion that teachers are essential. I've always felt like this to some extent but the more I play with musicians who were entirely self-taught the more I feel you can't get by just teaching yourself. I've taught myself a lot of things and when I started when I was really young the first music I was making was all based on experimentation by myself. BUT...when I really look back and analyze my development as a musician I keep seeing the influence of my teachers as being primary. I'm not very eloquent today...sorry...but in other words, all the major steps forward in my musical ability were a result, directly or indirectly, of the training and discipline from my teachers. So...what do you guys think? How important is it for an aspiring musician to get a good teacher? There's lots of books and videos out there but most of them are either total crap or they only focus on basic stuff (or just the wrong stuff). I fear with the advent of RocknRoll that has made guys like the Rolling Stones multi-millionaires (ok that was a joke)...it's become a popular trend to just learn chords from a book...y'know enough to play "Classic Rock Hits" and figure that's all you need. Well I'm not explaining myself too well here...help me out?

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply
The only thing I ever learned to play without a teacher is drums. Ironic that drums are the instrument I am most comfortable. The learning process is greatly accelerated with a good teacher. It is also essential to have someone to help you avoid bad technique. I'm grateful for an excellent piano teacher. What I learned from her has been the basis for learning all other instruments I have played, including drums. Robert

This post edited for speling.

My Sweetwater Gear Exchange Page