Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Please offer advice to an oldie/newbie -hardware vs software synths

Zep Dude

Hi folks, this is my first post on this particluar forum although I'm a veteran of many of the pro audio forums.

I was a synth teenager before MIDI, I've been doing this a long time, programmed in top NY studios before getting into producing. Got sick of MIDI and hearing the same sounds rehashed endlessly by the major manufacturers -endless Breathpads and Flutahatchi's and horrible thin pianos touted as the "best ever"- and started working only with real instruments -bands who play, cool! So now, I'm getting back into it via a very interesting world music pop project and trying to get caught up.

I've got my old racks of things like Wavestation AD, JD990, D-550, TX816, T802, O1W, Kurzweil Pro 1, Akai S1000, Roland S760, Voce V3, Prophet 5, Memorymoog, Midimini, Matrix 1000, Super Jupiter MKS-80, MKS-20 blah blah you get the picture. I've worked with bands who had Triton/Reason so had little exposure to those.

Just to get my bearings I picked up a used rack Motif and Fantom XR. Some very nice improvements! Effects are so much better now, no more cheesy reverbs and paper thin flanges, samples are still not perfect (guitars suck) but much better elec pianos, synth textures, organs etc. Presets are impressive -a lot of very usable stuff here.

So then I begin to realize. What I like about the Fantom/Motif is not when they are trying to be a pure sampler (even Roland's SRX-02 "Our best piano ever" can't emulate the decay of a real piano) but more when they do the wacky stuff -electronica sequency stuff, viby pads, meshing real samples with wierd stuff etc.

SOOOOOOO, that led me to think maybe the real route to go is softsynths instead. For real samples, Kontakt/Colossus/Ivory, for wierd stuff, Reason, Sonik Synth, Atmosphere etc.