Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Equipment choice and the wife factor � desperate need for advice

thorin_2

I respectfully ask for your advice on a very delicate matter. I am new to the digital piano / keyboard space having grown up playing acoustic pianos only. I have looked for an acoustic piano for many months but have failed to find any decent sounding piano within my budget (under 3k). The pianos that sound good (Yamaha, S. and S., Petrof, Baldwin, etc.) are way out of my price range new, and difficult if not impossible to find used in my area. So I decide I would give digital pianos a try. Ive been to my local music store and pecked away at Rolands and the Yamaha P-60, P-120 and YPL series. These units sounded ok, not really close to a real piano, until I discovered that they sounded very good when coupled with a studio monitor (amplified speaker). I then considered, why not ditch the whole piano + integrated cheesy speakers idea and go for a synthesized with even better piano sounds and separate speakers. So I did a little research and discovered that Yamahas new S-90ES is supposed to have the best piano sound ever (or at least compared to their other Yamahas). I havent heard one yet in person, but can imagine that it sounds even better than the decent sounding Yamaha P series of digital pianos. Synthesizers apparently dont have built in speakers (which of course everyone here knows, but remember, Im NOT a synth guy). I understand that I can purchase a pair of self-powered speaker (monitors?) and something called a controller box, and then be happy. Here is my problem. My wife doesnt want a bunch of ugly looking equipment taking space in her dining room with speakers, wires, etc. running all over the place. She doesnt mind a big bulky piano or even a keyboard, but at the very mention of speakers, she about flipped her switch! Please help educate me on how a rig can be setup so that I can hear what I play (without headph