Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Ensoniq ESQ1 Keyboard Problem

Spankyw2

Hi people I am a drummer but I like keeping equipment here at my house for jamming like my Fender Stratocaster, and a KAWAI FS650, and I will be buying a bass, very soon. But anyway I just got a Ensoniq ESQ1 Synth. And I like this this thing it is in good shape, the only problem is that some of the keys, when you press them will not work until you let up off of them and press again. But everything else seems to be in order. And that is good for a 1986 board. But doe's anybody know what this problem could be. I like this board good enough to put in the shop if I have to. :(:mad::confused::cry::confused:
Lewis Williams

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Lewis, welcome to the forum.

Prague means that the keyboard is limited to playing only 24 notes at one time. Are you hitting 24 or more notes at one time? If so, once you get past 24, the others won't sound.

I doubt this is what's happening. However, I don't have a clue as to what the problem could be. Could you give us a few more details please?

By the way, resetting the machine was a good idea. Which notes, specifically, are the ones giving you problems. Are they the same ones each time?

Tom

"Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent." - Victor Hugo

Hi,

Actually the ESQ-1 was 8 voice polyphony. If this is happening on the same keys all of the time and you know that it is not a situation of exceeding the polyphony, it is probably dirty contacts.

The ESQ-1 is not that hard to open up. PLEASE DISCONNECT THE A/C LINE BEFORE DOING THIS. Just four allen head screws one at each corner of the front panel. Lift the front panel up from each side of the front edge closest to the keyboard.