Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Digital for classical pianist

classicalkeyboard

:confused:

Looking for some advice in selecting the right digital piano. I studied classical piano growing up and want to start playing again (mainly classical).

I am thinking of buying a digital piano for the relatively small size/portability as compared to a traditional piano, and the added attraction of being able to use headphones.

Doubt I'll use all the different functions and MIDI interface, though I do want to purchase a good quality keyboard with weighted keys and a rich sound that will keep me happy for at least a few years.

Would appreciate any recommendations for particular keyboards or for references to articles that may help me become a more informed consumer.

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, niacin listed pretty much all of the recomendations you would be given by anybody else here. My additional advice would be to do some web research, starting here on this forum, using "search previous threads" option. Go and research for some possible targets on major manucfacturers or vendors (sweetwater. com, thomann.de, etc.) web pages. Finnaly go to the well equiped music shop and try various models yourself. Let your hands, hears and budget be the judge.

Faruk

Fat But Fast

Don't forget to check out the Yamaha GranTouch models. You have a _grand piano action_ (real hammers but, of course, no strings) midied to an excellent piano sample. I own a GranTouch 1 (GT1) and never get tired from the sample. I have modified the action - a deeper key dip and the piano suits me just fine.

Link to Yamaha GranTouch

No guitarists were harmed during the making of this message.

In general, harmonic complexity is inversely proportional to the ratio between chording and non-chording instruments.