Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Is my Speakeasy Classic Clone pre-amp working right?

David Loving

I have a Speakeasy Classic Clone pre-amp that I got to jack up my voce v5 sound. It seemed to make the signal hotter and more 'pronounced.' I sold the v5 and have gone on to an xk3, and the pre-amp does not seem to add anything to the sound. The xk3 can stand alone, strong signal and all. I'm thinking that maybe the pre-amp doesn't work right. I never got the orange light on the panel to light up no matter how hard I drive the pre-amp. The gain does not seem to add any overdrive, just more volume. I've asked Speakeasy for an opinion, but thought I'd ask the experts here. Any ideas? Thanks in advance...
"Forget it, Jake. It's Chinatown."

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well first I like to start by saying I'm far from an expert on these tube thingies. I have the SE stereo rack with classic/howler option which I originally bought for my CX-3. There is a certain amount of hype and a certain amount of truth to these tube preamps IMO. The CX-3 into a SE out to ref monitors is a waste although others will say it mellows out the "shrill" tone of the CX-3 (btw everyone on the clonewheel site loves to use/mimic this term) and gives the CX-3 a clearer tone. Why do I think this is a waste? The effect is very subtle and the distortion that the SE produces is after the rotary (Leslie)sim in the CX3 and it just sounds like crap doing it this way. The distortion goes in an out with the amplitude variation of the leslie sim(yuck).