Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Learning how to play the piano

midimacguy

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by 88keys4me:

What style of music do you want to play? Solo, in a band, or both?

Just solo at home for my personal enjoyment.

Although I enjoy all music I would like to learn some jazz style playing/chording.

I am on the Mac system so it would be great find some computer based instructions.

There's no substitute for piano lessons. There aren't any short cuts, if you really want to learn how to play.

Mike T.

Yamaha Motif ES8, Alesis Ion, Prophet 5 Rev 3.2, 1979 Rhodes Mark 1 Suitcase 73 Piano, Arp Odyssey Md III, Roland R-70 Drum Machine, Digitech Vocalist Live Pro. Roland Boss Chorus Ensemble CE-1.

While it is true that the best way to learn to play the piano is to have a qualified teacher show you the ropes, we should not forget that, especially in jazz, there is a whole flock of self-taught pianists who have gone on to make wonderful music. So, if you cannot find a good teacher there's an awful lot of free instructional piano stuff available on the net. I haven't used any of them so I am not recommending any. However, there are such places like http://www.pianonanny.com and http://www.learnjazzpiano.com which seem to be better known. You can always google "free piano lessons" and find hundreds of free instructional sites. You then have to do the hard work of figuring out which ones are any good. The learnjazzpiano site seems pretty good but you do need to know your scales and a little bit about harmony first. Good luck!
"Playing the piano is my greatest joy, next to my wife; it is my most absorbing interest, next to my work." ...Charles Cooke

A piano teacher with weekly lessons is the traditional approach. It works well for some and not others. If you learn what you want to know, it doesn't matter how you do it.