Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Monitors for gigs?

gangsu

I've got the keyboard, the stand, and headphones. Eventually I want near-field monitors for in home, and powered speakers for the gig, as I can afford it.

I've decided on M-Audio BX8's. I know I know, there's a lot of monitors out there with better specs and bigger price tags, but I'm not a recording engineer. Besides, they come highly recommended. I understand the BX5s have been used to demo the Promega at trade shows. ...good enough for them, good enough for me.

Dumb question: has anybody used monitors for small background acoustic gigs? I'm thinking of getting tripod adaptors and giving it a shot. It would be simple to run a mic for a violin or whatever through the keyboard. I'm just thinking, the average studio monitor is capable of pissing off the neighbours, why wouldn't it be a big enough sound for a small gig?

Would appreciate any comments,

Thanks, Sue

"........! Try to make It..REAL! compared to what? ! ! ! " - BOPBEEPER

• Replies 48
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I don't see any problem, other than they might not be as "road worthy" as something specifically designed for live use. But if it sounds good out in the audience, it doesn't matter what you're using.

I'd recommend a small $99 mixer to run multiple inputs through, rather than running things through your keyboard. You'll have much more accessible control for each sound source, it'll probably sound better, and you'll appreciate the flexibility down the road.

I have heard Mackie studio monitors used for gigs. They can get pretty loud and sound good, but with real loud gigs you would need to go thru some PA or add an extra muscle amp.

Harry Likas was the Technical Editor of Mark Levine's "The Jazz Theory Book" and helped develop "The Jazz Piano Book." Find 700 of Harry’s piano arrangements of standards for educational purposes and jazz piano tutorials at www.Patreon.com/HarryLikas