Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

P250 Loop on the fly?

Anomaly

I am pretty serious about buying a P250. Definitely need a new board.

I saw some debate about the looping capabilities of a P250. I am a primarily a pianist, but I play some guitar, dobro and mandlolin, too. I am looking for a board that can loop on the fly, so that I can play a verse and pick up another instrument and play along.

I've done this with a boomerang with guitar, but of course, with the piano, I have the stereo sample situation to deal with.

Any tips out there?

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by Anomaly:

I am pretty serious about buying a P250. Definitely need a new board.

I saw some debate about the looping capabilities of a P250. I am a primarily a pianist, but I play some guitar, dobro and mandlolin, too. I am looking for a board that can loop on the fly, so that I can play a verse and pick up another instrument and play along.

I've done this with a boomerang with guitar, but of course, with the piano, I have the stereo sample situation to deal with.

Any tips out there?

Wow such a cool idea, I'd love to know if thats possible in the P120. I love playing improvised chord sequences and then overdubbing with Korg Z1 horns and left hand guitar chords on the P120... hmm..

You can loop on the P250. I'm assuming you haven't recorded anything and you are starting from scratch. Once you have a Song Recorded and Saved, looping is a piece of cake.

The sequence of events is basically this:

1. Press Song Select until you see NewSong in the screen.

2. Press the Voice you want to use for the recording. I usually start with a Bass voice for a bass line on Track 1 and then go back and repeat the process for a high hat (from the XG Drum Sets) for Track 2. I haven't advanced beyond 2 tracks, but I would bet my money it's the same process over and over again. This would probably be easier using your home computer to accomplish.