Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

SoundForge vs. Wavelab,CoolEdit and Audition. which do you prefer?

pygmallion

Just a rather general question out there.

I've been using SoundForge for a few years, but am wondering if there are any benefits to using WaveLab/Cooledit/Audition?? or are they generally the same?

I've never given it much thought, but I would like to know what many of you prefer.

Oh yeah... Sound Designer doesn't count, because I only have a PC(see below)

Note: (not that I have anything against Mac's, I used to be an avid Mac user untill Steve Jobs pulled the Clone Licenses from Power Computing back in the 90's)

edit: added respect for Cooledit and Audition, thanks for reminding me Michael ;)

-pygmallion

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm currently using Wavelab 4.0 and will probably upgrade to 5.0. I did use Sound Forge when it first came out but abandonded it when SF delayed on upgrading it to support 24-bit files.

Audio Montage is terrific. I bring in 24-bit WAVs from Protools on the Mac. I can place them in the Montage and work outplacement and fades. You can add VST/DX effects universally and some can be placed on a pre/clip basis. I run the meta normalizer which goes through all the clips along with any processing, and then does an RMS (rather than the more common peak) normalization so that levels of the clips are consistent. The results are not unlike what a mastering engineer will do. CD Wizard does all of the pauses and spacing for CD creation. Then just write the CD. With the Izotope Ozone DX plugin (not included in WL) you have all the tools to create a great sounding CD.

Wavelab 5.0 brings in surround, DVD-A, etc.

Wavelab is a great tool. There's nothing close to it on the Mac.

Busch.

've been a SoundForge user since very earlier versions... still using it (7.0). Very Happy with it.

I've never been happy with Steinberg's programs.

Músico, Productor, Ingeniero, Tecnólogo