Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

have controller, what else do i need

GP2221

I'm kind of new to this, so please forgive me for asking a stupid question...

I have an old Roland 76-key controller that I would like to play with. I also have a M-Audio Audiophile 24/96 which has MIDI IN/OUT.

The last time I used this controller (back around 1990), I connected it to a Turtle Beach Multisound sound card which had a built-in hardware (I think E-Mu) synth. There were a couple of programs that came with the sound card that I could use to make music.

So, I assume that I will need to connect the controller to the MIDI port on my Audiophile 24/96 and use a softsynth. Will I need anything else just to play around and make sounds/music? I'd like to be able to select multiple instruments and play... Maybe even have different instruments assigned to different zones on the keyboard. The latest issue of Electronic Musician has an article that lists several sub $100 softsynths. I plan to get a copy and read about this tonight. Is there anything else I need to learn?

Thanks in advance for your advice!!

Gregg

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

the main thing to look for is if there is a 'stand-alone' version.

if not, you will need a 'host' program.

i use cubase, and the instruments come as vsti's.

cakewalk uses dxi's, but you can use a wrapper.

not sure about macs.

one place to look is here:

http://www.harmony-central.com/Software/

another is here:

http://www.kvr-vst.com/

kvr has some programs that can be used as hosts, and also has tons of instruments.

last time i looked, HC had some standalone programs and also some demos that could be used as hosts.

mildbill,

Thanks for responding. I'm sorry, but I don't understand your advice. You said to look for a 'stand alone' version. A stand-alone version of what? And what do you mean by a host program?