Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Strings

Dave Morehouse

Hi,

I have a Mackie 24 track MDR recorder a 24 track analog board and a bunch of outboard gear. I also have a Roland EP7 keyboard. What can I purchase do get a GOOD string/orchestral sound? I would like analog outputs but it's not mandatory. I have a lot of experience (13 years) with my equipment and acoustic music but would like to be able to add a track or two with a strong orchestral sound. Thanks, Dave.

Great googly moogly!!

http://www.inthechipsproduction.com

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Dave & welcome to the forum!

I'm certain that you'll get many great opinions here, so I'll add mine first: Get a KURZWEIL.

Kurzweil makes the best-sounding instruments for emulating acoustic sounds that you'll find in any rompler. Their strings are great. I'm also a big fan of their piano sounds.

I'm using a PC2X now, but also own a K2000 and 1000PX rack. I don't plan to sell them because all three have unique sounds that I really enjoy.

There are going to be quite a few forumites who will want to discuss Yamaha, Korg, Roland, Gigasampler, and others. Those are OK, I guess. :rolleyes::) I simply wanted to get my vote in first! :D:thu:

Stick around, Dave. This should be good! :)

Is There Gas In The Car? :cool:

"Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent." - Victor Hugo

If you want a module, I'll add to the Kurzweil love. I'm using the Orchestra ROM in my K2500RS for the strings and horns on a project right now. You might find a used PC2R-O somewhere online. It's the rack version of the PC2X that Gas mentioned, and the "O" designation means it comes with the Orchestra ROM.

Do you have a decent computer? If so, Garritan Personal Orchestra is a good buy for around $250. As much as I like the Kurzweil strings, I might pick up GPO for this current project.