Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Reason crashes on my Ibook! Help!!

Calumet

I am running Reason on a brand new G4 Ibook. 933. 640 MB. OS 10.3

It seems to work fine for a while...then it starts to crash when I move dials and such. Sometimes the program crashes. Sometimes the whole computer needs to reboot!

What gives? I was under the impression this should run with no problems on a new Ibook. I am using a M-Audio Ozone but it was doing it with other USB interfaces as well.

Thanks.

Mitch

My band Thousand Houses: www.thousandhouses.com

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Yes. I guess I get a kernal panic.

I am new to Mac so I don't know anything about the Disk Utility or the preferences. Any light you can shed would be REALLY helpful!

Thanks!

Mitch

Hey Calumet,

I saw your post over on the Props board and one thing I can suggest if you have not already done it is register and download the 2.5 update. Or if you are on R1 get the 1.0.1 update. They really fix some issue that crept up and added to instability on some machines. Otherwise contact tech support if your problems persist.

- DJDM

Originally posted by Calumet:

Yes. I guess I get a kernal panic.

I am new to Mac so I don't know anything about the Disk Utility or the preferences. Any light you can shed would be REALLY helpful!

Thanks!

Mitch

For correcting permissions, run DISK UTILITY which is found in APPLICATIONS/UTILITIES. Click on your main system disk and run REPAIR DISK PERMISSIONS. Prior to 10.3, I had to run this utility frequently as it seemed they were always getting screwed up. Since 10.3 it's much less of an issue. Permissions are most frequently messed up by installation programs (ironically, Apple installers seem to be the worst offenders). You might want to drag DISK UTILITY onto your dock so it's easy to get to.