Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Giga / midi question

Mr.WOW

Hello,

Giga has midi input 1 - 16 . What different ways do you set this up in conjunction with the keyboard.

I am sure there are different ways to do it, that is why I am asking , do you make c3 - c4 a bass and then maybe c4 - c5 some drums?

What are some different ways to look at this?

Did this question make ANY since?

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I almost never split the keyboard to control multiple parts on Giga. Maybe the occasional bass/piano split. Sometimes setting up layers is nice. Mainly I just use the multiple channels on GS to read multiple tracks of the sequencer.

Robert

This post edited for speling.

Thanks, keep it coming, I am new to Giga.

So you load ONE sound and just use the entire keyboard to fire off giga?

Say a bass sound, and then use all of the keys on the one sound for different pitches?

I am just looking for ideas from the pros.

THANKS

WOW

Giga supports 16 MIDI channels and also 4 MIDI ports which gives you the possibility of 64 MIDI channels. If you set up your controller to send its bottom notes to MIDI ch 1 and top notes to ch 2, you can easily set up splits.

You can have different MIDI interfaces assigned to the four ports, but you don't have to. You can tie the ports together (by clicking on the green 1,2,3,4 buttons on the main screen). This is very helpful in putting together layers. I do this all the time with string libraries placing violins on port 1, violas port 2, etc. Then I can play four sections of the strings at once. Additionally (memory permitting) you can assign the different articulations (legato, pizzicatto, etc) to different MIDI channels so then just moving to a different channel you can play the articulation for the four sections. Be warned layering quickly uses up polyphony.