Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Lighten The Load

Joe Tee

OK...here goes another subjective ponderance... :rolleyes:

I've been playing the bar scene for over 25 years and done my share of lugging heavy keyboards (not to mention PA equipment). Now in my late 40's with two lower back surgeries under my belt (so to speak) I'm looking to possibly lighten my gear...Adkins for keyboards if you will....

I currently use a Roland RD 600 and XK 2 (with H&K) for gigging along with some rack modules. In reading posts here I'm intrigued about going to a Nord Electro for my organ sounds and a P90 for my piano. I didn't see any info on being able to program external setting on the P90...can you? Any input on what I would be missing besides weight on these two? I have a QSR and Vintage Pro in my rack....

Joe

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply
That's my setup, P90 for piano and Nord Electro for organ and el Piano: However, the P90 has practically no capabilities as a midi cntrl. You can basicaly set the midi chanel and that's it, no zones. If you have any specific questions you can email me. Also you can download the manual at the yamaha site. http://www2.yamaha.co.jp/manual/english/index.html

Right now I have several performace settings stored on my RD...splits/layers... I'd like to be able to recall presets from my rack and use splits...in conjunction with say the P90.

I skimmed through the P90 manual on line and it looks rather limited on the midi side.

Any problems with the P90 being road worthy? The Nord looks good on paper. I've not had my hands on one. I use piano and organ mainly and am a B3 owner...so I want a convincing organ sound as well as piano. I'm sure with some creative thought I can find a way to rearrange my settings to make this work....