Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Sonar 3 missing Play List feature

jimscheuer

Does anyone else have this problem?? This is a copy of an email I just sent to Cakewalk:

I am sending this in hopes that it will reach those in some position of authority at Cakewalk, and not just a customer service rep. Please forward it as appropriate.

It is with deep regret that, today, I have to package up my Sonar 3 upgrade and return it for a refund. I received my return authorization this afternoon form a customer service rep.

I have been a Cakewalk Pro and Sonar user for a decade, but it appears I have no choice but to look into other company's products. Cakewalk apparently no longer supports users such as myself, and fails to properly advertise changes in their products when offering "upgrades".

One of the important features (to me) of Sonar 2.2 (which I have been using for over a year) and all previous versions of Cakewalk, has been the "play list" feature, which allowed me to use Sonar and Cakewalk very effectively in live performance situations. I have used your products on stage since 1995. As of your latest "upgrade", you no longer provide this program option, and your tech people tell me it's because your product is designed for studio, not live, use.

I have several problems with this. At one time, you clearly aimed your products at those of us who used them live, and now you appear to have abandoned us. I was told that "only" 5% of your users used this feature. I am quite sure that, if you researched your product usage carefully, you would find plenty of small features that are used by 5% or fewer of your users. Are you going to remove those features as well?? One of the advantages of your products has always been the fact that there were many ways to do the same things, allowing users to use whichever approach worked best for them. Are you abandoning this software design philosophy?