Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Tips on learning rock/funk/blues piano?

skier4467

I'm a competent guitarist who is relearning how to play piano (I took childhood lessons). My problem is that whenever I sit down at piano I end up playing pretty stuff or new-age sounding songs. I'd like to play more rock, funk, and blues. Someday I'd like to be good enough to jam with a band.

Tomorrow I am receiving my Kurzweil sp76!!! I hope it will inspire me to play better than my old PSR36 from the 80s.

Besides taking lessons, what do you recommend in order to become better at playing upbeat stuff like rock, funk, and blues? BTW, I''m talking about EP Rhodes and organ sounds too.

Thanks for your time.

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

1) Grab some CDs that have the kind of music you are talking about, pop them in the CD player, and try to play along.

- listen to what collection of notes the choice piano player is playing (e.g., Philosopher King's used to use lots of pentatonic ideas) Do not be surprised if you are playing very "simple" (but choice) chords

- try and get down some of the rhythmic ideas as to where the keyboard player is playing with respect to the beat. Often it is not what you play but how you play it.

2) Go down to the library and raid old Keyboard magazines for transcriptions, master classes, etc.

3) Search some of the tab web sites (e.g., tablorium, tabcrawler, etc.) for the basic chord changes and go from there.

4) Go to a music store and play through some sheet music pretending you are interested in their pianos

Anyways, these are some of the things I do. I hope they help.

cheers. ;)