Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Do you read music?

I can read music..... but it's never really helped me. It's just helping me take a music theory class in college in this quarter. :D Oh well, so actually it helps me, I guess. But, I wonder if it'll help me in the real world. I could write a score, but now, I can take my computer anywhere. To write a score, all I have to do is paly a VST instrument live and record it in logic. Even though I read music fine, I really don't think this will help me a lot. Do you read music? :cool:

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Yes I read music. When I was a working musician (Depended on my ability to work as a musician for my food, rent, etc.)...being able to read was essential. Yeah I could have just played Country or Rock by ear and got a lot of gigs but that's a good way to starve and end up living in your car. For gigs that paid $$$...I was expected to be a fast accurate reader about 8 out of 10 times. Has that changed with the times? Maybe...I don't really know but I doubt it.

I am able to read...but I don't generally sight read. I could work at improving my chops in that direction, but, for my goals, I don't think it would help me personally that much. Oh yeah, it wouldn't hurt, but, I think the cost/benefit ratio is rather low...speaking strictly for myself...of course.
"Cisco Kid, was a friend of mine"

Yeap... I read music and play Trombone. I really have to be able to read music or I'd never be able to do what I do... I work with a lot of classical clients and if you can't read music: A) They have ZERO respect for you B) You can't figure out which E flat in which measure they're talking about when they want to edit. You really have to be able to read a full score for what I'm doing most of the time. Valky

Valkyrie Sound:

http://www.vsoundinc.com

Now at TSUTAYA USA:

http://www.tsutayausa.com