Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Is the P-80 a good choice?

dissident

I'm a 20 year old swedish student and I will soon be moving from home to a small appartment. I am looking for something to play piano on. I've been playing piano for over ten years and I have a acoustic piano at home so you could say I know what a real piano feels like. I've found that the Yamaha P-80 is a cheap semi-portable piano that seems good. I will of course try one before bying one but I'm wondering if I should consider one. I heard good reviews from many people who don't play piano very much. Any other stage pianos in this price range I should consider?

thanks

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi !

I think the P-80 is a really great piano. In it´s price range there are not many good alternatives.

One alternative cpuld be the Korg SP-200. It is an OK piano, but in my opinion the piano sounds are not as good as on the P-80. But the other sounds on the Korg is very good.

Another alternative is the Roland FP3, it has some cool features like the "practies friend", kind of auto comp, controled by left hand cords or pre programed chord changes and some cool sounds like the velocity controlled scat sound But here again the acoustic piano sound is to weak. (The FP-3 is also more expensive than the P-80)

Roland also have the RD-XXX (don´t remember the number), but it is not near the P-80.

Kawai has one portable piano, but I haven tried it so....

One thing Yamaha always have is a great feeling Keyboard.

So as you already may have guessed I would recomend yoy to go for the P-80 (If acoustic piano is the most important feature for you.)

In my opinion a better alternative would be the Yamaha P-120. It is amazing.

Keep in mind that this is my personal opinions, and piano sounds tend to be a very personal matter, so get out there an d check them out if you can.