Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

XP-30 or Alesis QS7.1 - what would you choose?

Blaster

I have a chance to get a Roland XP-30 used in mint or a brand new Alesis QS7.1. The Roland would cost me $120 more. IS one board better than the other? I am a guitarist who does some keyboard live and want to do some in home recording.

What would you choose and why?

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Blaster :wave: ,

Welcome to the Keyboard Forum. The Alesis QS7.1 is 76 keys and the XP-30 is 61 keys. Do you need 76 keys or will 61 keys be enough? They're both expandable meaning you can add more sounds (expansion boards). Sonically speaking, I feel that the XP-30 would be a better choice. The Alesis does have some very useful sounds, especially in the "synth" banks. But if you could go to your local music store and play both keyboards (for testing sound and action/feel of the keys), then you can judge for yourself which would be a better board for you. Any board can be used live but it depends on what you need.

Peace!

I would choose (and in fact we did in my church) the roland xp 30, it has a bunch os sound of every category you can imagine. I sounds better than alesis, it has 3 expansions card on board: orchestal, techno, and session, and if you buy it from musicians friend they are giving another card for free. How much would cost you the xp 30? It has better and more sounds... you also have 2 more expansion slots, more options, better sounding keyboard than alesis... IMHO.
Rebuilding My Self