Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Reason...or other softsynth?

orange021

I am an old-school analog player who just bought a ti-book. Oh yeah. I have been waiting for this moment for years...the softsynth. I am considering Reason, but the demos sound really thin. I am into a much warmer sound, with electric pianos and fat synth bass. So, I am wondering if there are other comparable products out there which might be worth discussing. As I said, I am a newbie to digital at the moment...

Orange

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

What are you running as your sequencer? Here are a few things I like under Sonar.

JunoX2 - for $30 a great deal.

B4 - Maybe the best VSTi out there. At least most realistic.

Battery - Great drums.

Tassman - Good sound if you tweak the programs. Hopefully vs. 3 will be more stable.

SonicSynth/SampleTank - Sort of a workstation. Lots of workstation sounds plus nice pads.

FM7 - Yet another NI program. At first I did not like this. Then I heard the new patches. Very nice.

In any respect, realize that softsynths benefit from the same processing enhancements that hardware synths get. Add some effects or tube emulation and it really helps.

Robert

This post edited for speling.

From one orange to another, I love Reason.. its unbelievable for my uses jazzfunk/fusion/T-Dream etc.....

http://www.lancs.ac.uk/ug/loughran/brasilian_haze192.mp3

has a demo track I did in Reason (using stock sounds) after 1.5 days using it... I borrowed a friends computer and had to give it back... just as well really otherwise my PhD Research would have gone down the drain!

The Subtractor synth is a bit thin but that never stopped the Arp Odyssey, I found but is capable of

some astonishing textures, esp when you start messing around with FM and use LFOs to control parameters..

Anyway the Malstrom in Reason 2.0 looks the biz and sounds wonderfully weird..

Peace

Orangefunk

Originally posted by orange021: