Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Yamaha S03 synth opinions?

skier4467

Now that it's been out awhile...I wonder what the consensus on this synth. It seems to have good features for around $499. I'm looking to rehearse and occasionally use it at my band's gigs. (I'm a guitarist). I heard it has very good Rhodes sounds and alright organs, pianos, pads, and electric pianos. That's what I'm looking for.

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I have been using the S03 for 5 months now. I use it live. I have had many different keyboards over the past 25 years and have found the S03 to be one of the best sounding synthesizers for the money. The biggest drawback is the quality of the keyboard. It does not lend itself to good playing technique. I use mine midied with a weighted action keyboard. This is the trick to getting the most out of this synth. If you are going to use it for fill cords, simple runs, etc. then it will do fine on it's own. The Rhodes sounds are some of the best! (I played a Rhodes for many years) The synth and pad sounds are also good. The acoustic piano sounds are what's lacking. The instrument has held up very well. I find it easy to program. It also comes with editing software to use with your computer. For the money (I paid $430 new) you can't go wrong with it. I feel that the S03 is best used as an addition to a primary keyboard(s), not as a stand alone unit, but will do fine if advanced playing technique in not required on it. Hope this helps ;)

Kurzweil PC3, Hammond SK-1 + Ventilator, Korg Triton. 2 JBL Eon 510's.

Originally posted by Krakit:

I've had my fingers crossed for about a year that Yamaha will see fit to produce a module based on this engine.

Carl