Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Seeking Nord Lead 3 advice

I'm thinking about getting a Nord Lead 3, mainly because I love the user interface - those knob/led-circle combinations thingies are the coolest synthesizer design innovation since sliced bread, IMHO, and the NL3 makes good use of them in more ways than one (like they move when they're being modulated, for instance - right on!)

But I'm no expert on analog synths, although I've played a few over the years, I owned an MKS80 for a while, for instance, and I've played and owned a few VA's (like a have a MOSS board in my Triton, for instance, but don't think the UI is very good).

So analog experts, please tell me what you think of the NL3. If the Minimoog and the Prophet 5 are a '10' (or plug in the name of your favourite classic analog synth), where does the NL3 fit on a scale of 1 to 10? In terms of sound quality, I mean. For instance, I've heard the NL1 and NL2 described as being a bit thin and digital-sounding. Is the NL3 the same, or is it an improvement, in your opinion?

Yes, I have gone and listened for myself.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply