Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

My AES Experience - or - Meeting Dave

Magpel

My friend Anthony from ADL Labs got me a pass, so I figured why not. I haven't been in the city since 9/11, not because I'm afraid of the place but because I haven't had cause or time to go since then, but I thought lest any irrational aversion to NYC should take hold and I start to feel I can live without the city, best to haul butt down, just for a couple of hours on Saturday to ogle the AES buffet.

Seems like I spent most of my time wandering through the exhibits, sneaking peripheral scans of people's badges, sometimes catching people doing the same to me. From the looks I was getting, I felt like my name must have been scrawled on construction paper with crayon, and some backwards k's and n's. It must have been just my own insecurity...or was it. "Yeah, sure, I'm a pro, in a semi-, amateurish kinda way..."

The exhibits of course were lovely and induced some acute G.A.S. I wasn't so fired up by the big studio stuff, but try to walk by a bunch of Neumans or a rack of distressors or Vipres and not feel just a little "acquisitive." BTW, the only keyboard I saw in the room was a Kurzweil PC2x at the Tascam booth, where they need a board to demo Gigastudio, I suppose. I did not see Tascam guy there, unless Jeff wasn't sporting a badge.

Saw a somewhat schticky but nonetheless cool presentation at the MOTU booth on DP and the altiverb. MAC envy struck, so I moved on, hearing Steadyb in my head, calling me a "bedroom professional"...