Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

MP3's copy right ?

Dan O

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by dano:

Hello to all,

I know I can send a CD or tape to my home address and have a " poor man's copy right " ! How about sending a disk with an MP3 ? Dano

Seems to me it would be more protected than the poor man copyright. I`m inetrested in the outcome here. Casey

"Let It Be!"

Hey guys, I am an attorney and our firm does a lot of copyright and copyright infringement litigation work. Yout poor man's copyright doesn't hold up in court. Just to clear up a common misunderstanding, you own the copyright the moment you reduce the music to tangible form, regardless of whether you choose to register it.

Registering the copyright with the United States Copyright Office gives you additional protections, including 1) the ability to maintain an action for copyright infringement, 2) the right to recover your attorneys' fees, 3) the right to recover statutory damages for infringements, and 4) a presumption that you are the original author and copyright holder.

Invest the $30 to file a copyright. You can copyright all your songs as a compilation using one copyright form and one $30 payment, so there's no good reason for not completing the filing.

The "poor man's copyright" only serves as evidence of the date of your claimed original authoriship. That's not really that helpful in a copyright case, and if someone else already filed a copyright for the same work, you will be out of luck.

Hope that helps,

Roland

Originally posted by R:

Hey guys, I am an attorney and our firm does a lot of copyright and copyright infringement litigation work. Yout poor man's copyright doesn't hold up in court.