Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

What kind of equipment can I get for less than $5,000 to start a home studio?

CP

I'm looking to build a modest studio in my home for less than $5,000. That may be way too cheap, but please excuse my ignorance, I have no idea about this subject. What is the basic equipment that I need, and how much would it cost? The only thing I have right now is a Yamaha P-80. I am not looking to be a professional. I just want to be able to fool around and have fun making music.

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

not that i am an expert, but from what i've had experience with, you could get a good start with a mac G4 running either digital performer or pro tools (audio and midi recording software) and a MOTU 828 (a/d interface). we're using this setup for an album my friends and i are doing. i don't know about cost since i live in the land of the crocodile hunter (and i hear that you guys LOVE him - he is a nut) and i don't know your currency too well and how much things cost in $US.

i have a fast pc running cubase VST and it's ok. as for compressors, power amps, mics, mic preamps and speakers i can't really offer any advice - i'll leave that to the experts. but i think yamaha or mackie near-field monitors rock.

hope this helps.

"Consider how much coffee you're drinking - it's probably not enough."

CP, here's my suggestion:

1) A 733MHz Power Mac G4 with 512 MB RAM and an Apple 15" Cinema Display for $2,324.00 : the host computer with two FireWire ports, two USB ports, and a CD-RW drive.

2) A MOTU 828 Interface for $699.99 : the FireWire audio interface.

3) MOTU Digital Performer for $499.99 : the sequencing and audio software.

4) A Maxtor 3000DV 60 GB 7,200 RPM FireWire HD for $289.95 : the drive on which to record the audio.

5) Event Electronics 20/20bas Monitors for $799.99 , so you can hear what your doing on a relatively accurate pair of monitors.