Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

What's harder to learn, classical or jazz

CP

Personally, I think jazz is harder to learn musically, because of all the theory (chords, progressions, voicings, improv). However, I think that classical is harder technically. I believe that if you can play classical, you can play just about anything.

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

It's a toss up. Most good jazz players have had some classical backround. Chick,Herbie and so on.

I knew a jazz teacher once who thought you could teach jazz theory withot knowing classical. But you still need the technique and scales the mechanics of playing. This takes you back to classical.

Q:What do you call a truck with nothing in the bed,nothing on the hitch, and room for more than three people in the cab? A:"A car"....

please excuse my spacial thinking, but if you're committed to learning, you can play both proficiently to some degree. i'm a classical pianist and play rock etc but had no idea of jazz; so i got myself some books and listened to heaps of jazz and i can play it to a good standard. i suppose i'm also saying what tenthplanet did - if you can play classical, you can play anything.
"Consider how much coffee you're drinking - it's probably not enough."

I'll risk the flames and pronounce Jazz as the more difficult.

Classical music performance is a recipe of:

Skill

Technique

and interpretation

Jazz is a recipe of:

Skill

Technique

interpretation

imagination

inspiration

spontaneous ability

and an undifinable grasp of something as of yet unamed.

Carl

IMHO there are certain aspects of playing in any genre that simply can't be taught or acquired through study. Some artists just have a seemingly natural talent. A special few are exceptionally gifted in even more than one genre but that's exceedingly rare.